Hillclimb and Sprint Association
an MSA recognised club
MSA recognised



The HSA Speed Championship, 20 years old in 2017, provides the perfect starting point for new competitors to the sport of Speed Hill Climbing and Sprinting and also appeals to the more experienced competitor. Widely recognised as the premier clubman’s speed championship you may enter with just an MSA ‘B’ Speed licence, which does not require a test or medical.

Comprising more than 30 rounds throughout the British Isles including iconic venues like Shelsley Walsh, Prescott, Cadwell Park, Silverstone and Goodwood. There are 24 different classes, which cover cars of every type from your daily road car, with minimum safety additions, through modified and specialist cars to single seat racing cars and classic cars from the past. All cars must comply with MSA rules in the ‘Blue Book’, which you receive with your competition licence.

The championship is scored on the best 9 results so you can choose where to compete and as much or a little according to your personal preference. The unique scoring system gives all competitors the opportunity to score consistently by gaining points from both their place in class and their best time achieved. All rounds of the Championship are reported on the HSA's web site and in Speedscene magazine together with plenty of action photos.The annual awards lunch is usually held in November at the Prescott club house.


The 2017 SBD HSA Championship Regulations can be downloaded here:

pdf Version
word Version

For 2017 the Championship has 30 rounds and returns to Cadwell Park after a gap of a few years and also includes the Eastern Course at Blyton Park. The major changes to the regulations involve the Class structure. Chairman , Les Buck, reports: "The Committee has decided to make some changes to the detailed regulations for next year. In the main they relate to rationalising some of the classes with a view to increasing the level of direct competition at events. As a result, we plan the following changes:-

  • We will also introduce a new class for MSA’s new Standard Category. To begin with at least, we will have one new class for standard 2-wheel drive saloons and sports cars up to 2000cc, made after the year 1999, in numbers of more than 5000 per year. In doing so, we hope that this will help bring newcomers to the sport.
  • Merge classes F and G for hillclimb super sports and sports libre cars above and below 2000cc. We will use the class F records going forward to calculate points.
  • Merge classes J and J2 for 1100 to 1600 Racing Cars for a car (J) or motorcycle (J2) based engine. We will use the faster of the two records at each venue initially.
  • Merge classes J1 and X for pre-94 and pre-74 Formula Fords, again using the faster of the two records per venue.
  • Merge classes W and W3 for classic racing and classic sports racing cars built up to 31/12/75, (subject to MSA approval). Again we will use the faster record at each venue.
  • Drop class N for Imp engined cars, as they can run within classes U, V or W.
  • Drop class W2 for classic racing cars built between 1976 and 1983, as they could run within H, I, J or K as appropriate to their capacity.
  • Drop class Z for Flathead cars.
  • Split the U and V classes (U1, U2 and V1, V2) into Roadgoing and Mod Prod versions to allow the use of List 1C tyres and the removal of trim."

The SBD HSA Speed Championship will operate under MSA Permit. No. CH2017/S023

You may register for the 2017 SBD HSA Championship by filling out the registration form and sending with a cheque for £32, payable to the Hillclimb and Sprint Association Ltd, to the championship co-ordinator (details on the entry form). Please ensure that your HSA membership is up to date or that your membership application has been submitted before registering for the Championship.

Alternatively you can register on-line here and pay through PayPal using either your PayPal account or with your credit card.

If you are paying by Paypal please remember to wait after you have clicked on 'Pay Now' until Paypal retuns you to the HSA web site and your registration number and details are displayed on screen. You will then be sent a confirmation email and your details will appear in the list of competitors.

The 2017 SBD HSA Championship entry form can be downloaded here:

pdf Version
word Version

If you have difficulty in reading or printing these documents please contact the Championship co-ordinator. Details on the contacts page.